Cassandra tagged me with the “listening while knitting” meme last post. I think that for me it applies more to “listening while cooking or baking.” Most of my multitasking energy from knitting goes to fending off the yarn-crazed cat. Like Cassandra, I like to knit while watching dvd’s. This weekend, I locked the cat out of the room and worked on my Vogue knit.101 airplane pillow while watching “Shoot ‘Em Up.” I know, I know, strange combo, but it worked well because I was able to pause while I looked up ssk on youtube. Watching the knit witch’s tutorial helped me make the cognitive leap of how to do this elusive (for me) stitch. Cassandra had patiently explained it to me already, but I just kept resisting. I’m forced to employ a sappy simile here: yarn, like life, tightens up and resists when you try to take it in the wrong direction, and only by easing up does everything fall into place. “Shoot ‘Em Up” also had a knitting moment where Clive Owen takes his knitted sock and places it on a newborn’s head, but otherwise, yep, completely unrelated.

For “listening while cooking or baking,” it’s usually whatever’s on my running mix. Here’s a pic of a recent cupcake experiment, VeganYumYum’s marzipan knitting.

Okay, Lauren. You’re tagged now. Let’s see what you’re working on.

dsc00969.jpg

