I’ve been working for a few weeks now on gauge swatches for my friend’s wedding gift: the stunning Saffron Cables afghan from Interweave Knits Fall ’06. Funny thing about these swatches, no matter what size needle I use I end up with 3.5 stitches per inch. Doesn’t matter. U.S. Size 9 or size 4 it all ends up 3.5 stitches per inch. I know that stress (and wine consumption) will have an effect on gauge but this is a little ridiculous.

Since gauge isn’t my friend I’m going to pick up more yarn. Since I am math-impaired an engineering pal helped me figure out how many more skeins I need to finish this thing. SEVEN! that is a total of 987 extra yards. DUDES! this blanket will be freaking HUGE! It will cover her, her husband to be, their future children, and the neighbor’s children. and there will be room left over to keep the cat warm too.

