Here is the throw thus far:

green throw

I forget where this pattern idea came from, but it’s pretty basic. Cast on a hundred or so stitches on a circular needle, the one I’m using is an 11. And you know what they say, the bigger the needle… well the faster you get the damn thing done. There is no gauge to be following here.

Each row is knit with a different color/texture yarn, feel free to be as random as possible. I have a hard time being purposefully random but try just reaching into the bag and pulling something out. When you get to the end of the row, make sure you start the next one facing the right way so that it ends up being garter stitch (knit each row). You should see the little purl bumps right under the needle, that’s how you know you’re on the correct side.

Is that confusing? Sorry.

Happily, last night was banh mi knit nite REDUX. The sandwiches were good, and the conversation stimulating (can’t wait to try those Whole Foods vegan chocolate chip scones!) But I think that in the process of preparing the Vietnamese fixin’s I left some jalapeño juice on my fingers. It didn’t wash off and I continued to knit. Because now when I try to work on the throw my hands feel as though they are going to burst into flames.

At least it will keep my mom nice and warm.

