Today was my first day of jury duty. Well ok I was summoned and I have to go back tomorrow, I don’t know yet if I’m going to be selected.

This morning as I was getting ready, I knew to grab the book I was almost finished reading but still had a decent chunk to get through, as well as a good, dense magazine (I was still on the Talk of the Town in this week’s New Yorker.) I also knew to take my throw–and all nine related balls of yarn. As I was transferring these things into a tote bag, I remembered the scissors. The dual-levered, sharp, pointy implements gave me pause.

Long story short yeah, they confiscated my scissors at the door. Which I sort of knew would happen, but I didn’t want to take the chance of it NOT happening and then being out of luck at the end of each row. Does anyone have experience with this? If I take in plastic safety scissors tomorrow, will they give me a hard time? What about fingernail clippers…? I could probably sneak those in, right? It’s too bad I’m not knitting something on one ball of yarn that doesn’t require snipping, but multiple stripes is the very essence of this project.

It’s weird that they do that though, I mean I’m auditioning to be on the jury, I haven’t actually committed a crime. I’m not in the orange jumpsuit yet. Is it because they know people tend to get feisty when confronted with institutional/governmental bureaucracy? I know a few people this morning who were. And I felt bad for the clerks because, you know, they hear the same shit every day, and you’re stupid if you think you’re the first one to complain to them about all your problems. Trust me on this, I used to work at the CRYBERRY.

Sorry for the unknittingrelated tangent. But I only have nine days left to finish the throw! Time is a-wastin!

