My pal Sabre has this innate ability to pull together the most amazing meals with whatever happens to be on hand in the kitchen. I’m always blown away by how casual she is about recipes – in that she doesn’t use them and just feels out a meal. This sort of making eludes me. I need instructions for most of my hobbies (some more intricate and in depth than others). And I struggle when I don’t have clear directions to follow.

As you can imagine this significantly limits the creative aspect of my knitting. It’s challenging to follow an intricate pattern line for line and make something beautiful. But is it creative? Not for me. I can control the color and size and that’s about it.
I think that’s why I fell in love with the super simple “Kim’s Hats” pattern from Last Minute Knitted Gifts. (as an aside, I’ve met Joelle H. at Purl who personally assisted me with some minor knit issues – she’s a very patient and gifted woman!) The simplicity of Kim’s Hat pattern allowed me to get comfortable with the basics of hat knitting. Soon I started tweeking brim styles, adding earflaps, working different stitches, then including different elements like cables- and it worked!

In the interest of pushing myself into a more creative place knit wise I’m going to make a sweater for my man and here is my proposed concept:

Sweater Idea

The design is a mix from various sources. The shape is based on Elizabeth Zimmerman’s “Seamless Hybrid Sweater,” from Knitting Without Tears, with a “Shirt Yoke” back. The ‘creative’ part is adding ribbing, a V neck, and some colorwork. The colorwork pictured is from Kristin Nicholas’ Spartan Pullover (Interweave Knits Fall ’06). I may figure out something else to put in there since I’m trying to be imaginative here. But, I don’t want to go to overboard since I’ve never made a sweater before.

